Partial fractions ( part of a logistic equation)

In summary: Thus, the partial fraction decomposition for the Bernoulli equation is,$\displaystyle \begin{align*} \frac{1}{K \, N } + \frac{1}{K \left( K - N \right) } \end{align*}$
adzix
Hi everyone, I am stuck on a problem. I need to give a partial fraction of 1/N(k-N). I have tried every method so far ( plotting roots, systems of equations). I think I found A=1/k but I have no clue how to find B value. I would really appreciate any help as I am a desperate student trying to pass the class. (the initial problem is dN/dt=(r/K)N(K-N), N(0)=No)

Physics news on Phys.org
adzix said:
Hi everyone, I am stuck on a problem. I need to give a partial fraction of 1/N(k-N). I have tried every method so far ( plotting roots, systems of equations). I think I found A=1/k but I have no clue how to find B value. I would really appreciate any help as I am a desperate student trying to pass the class. (the initial problem is dN/dt=(r/K)N(K-N), N(0)=No)

$\displaystyle \begin{align*} \frac{A}{N} + \frac{B}{K - N} &\equiv \frac{1}{N \left( K - N \right) } \\ A \left( K - N \right) + B \,N &\equiv 1 \end{align*}$

Let $\displaystyle \begin{align*} N = 0 \end{align*}$ to find $\displaystyle \begin{align*} A\,K = 1 \implies A = \frac{1}{K} \end{align*}$

Let $\displaystyle \begin{align*} N = K \end{align*}$ to find $\displaystyle \begin{align*} B \, K = 1 \implies B = \frac{1}{K} \end{align*}$

so the partial fraction decomposition is $\displaystyle \begin{align*} \frac{1}{K \, N } + \frac{1}{K \left( K - N \right) } \end{align*}$.

Although not asked for, it might be insightful for the OP to notice that the logistic equation is in fact a special case of the Bernoulli equation, and can be solved without partial fractions! However it would be advisable to ignore if you (the OP) have not yet covered this :).

The Bernoulli equation is of the form:

$\begin{equation}y' = f(x)y^a - g(x)y \end{equation}$