Particular solution to linear nonhomogeneous equation

In summary, the student is trying to find the particular solutions to the equation L''+w^2L=cn^2sin(nt)+w^2b where w,c,n are constants. First, they split the equation into two, and then tried to solve for the particular solution for the first one, but they weren't quite sure how to do it. For the second particular solution, they guessed that L=Acos(nt)+Bsin(nt). They also tried to solve for Acos(nt)+Bsin(nt) for the first solution, but they got Lp2=(cn^2sin(nt))/(w^2-n^2). Finally, they figured out how to
spacetimedude

Homework Statement

I started learning about solving non homogeneous linear differential equations in class and I am a bit clueless on how to solve them since I've never had a prior experience with much of differential equation.

I am trying to find the particular solutions to the equation L''+w^2L=cn^2sin(nt)+w^2b where w,c,n are constants.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

First, I split the equation into two:
Lp1=> L''+w^2L=w^2b
Lp2=>L''+w^2L=cn^2sin(nt)

Not quite sure how to solve for the particular solution for the first one.

Lp2:
We guess that L=Acos(nt)+Bsin(nt).
Then we have
L'=-nAsin(nt)+nBcos(nt)
L''=-n^2Acos(nt)-n^2Bsin(nt)=-n^2(Acos(nt)+Bcos(nt))

Plugging back into the equation =>
(-n^2(Acos(nt)+Bcos(nt)))+w^2(Acos(nt)+Bsin(nt))=cn^2sin(nt)

What do we do from here?
Any help will be appreciated.

EDIT:
For the second particular solution, do we just solve for Acos(nt)+Bsin(nt) because we supposed that is L?
In that case, I get Lp2=(cn^2sin(nt))/(w^2-n^2).

Also, for the first solution, do we guess that Lp1 is a constant, so when we take the second derivative, L'' becomes 0, so it just becomes w^2L=w^2b, hence L=b?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Last edited:
spacetimedude said:

Homework Statement