PCB Designing for Beginners | Free Software Help

• Thread starter angelageorge
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Pcb
In summary: Thanks for the input!Yes, it is very common in the industry. Most companies will have DFM guidelines that are managed by the Manufacturing Engineering group.
angelageorge
Hey All,

I am glad to be a part of this Forum. I am brand new to PCB design and I am working on a project related to PCB designing and manufacturing. At present we have free software's available which helps in PCB designing. Can anyone suggest me which is the best software available for designing PCBs. Information on this would be appreciated. Thanks.

Engineering news on Phys.org
angelageorge said:
Hey All,

I am glad to be a part of this Forum. I am brand new to PCB design and I am working on a project related to PCB designing and manufacturing. At present we have free software's available which helps in PCB designing. Can anyone suggest me which is the best software available for designing PCBs. Information on this would be appreciated. Thanks.

Eagle is a popular introductory package. What software are you using for the schematic capture? It's best if the PCB layout software is coupled with the [STRIKE]PCB layout[/STRIKE] schematic capture software. Is the circuit digital, analog, or mixed-signal?

Last edited:
My preference:
Pads PCB & Power Logic where cost is not a major consideration.
DipTrace where cost is a major consideration. (DipTrace is also easier to use than Pads for simpler PCB's)