Penrose Diag Black Hole: Riddle Me This

In summary, the conversation discusses the individual's misunderstanding of Penrose diagrams, particularly in relation to black holes. The individual questions why black hole Penrose diagrams have a 45 degree angle for the event horizon and depict the black hole as growing over time. They also present their own personal speculation of what a black hole Penrose diagram should look like. The other person explains that Penrose diagrams are not meant to accurately represent the size of a black hole, but rather its causal structure and representation of infinity. They also caution against making personal speculations without a full understanding of the topic.
sbaker8688
TL;DR Summary
Why doesn't the Penrose diagram of a black hole look like this?
I'm no expert in this stuff, and perhaps I don't understand these diagrams, but having said that, I don't understand why the typical Penrose diagrams I see of black holes look the way that they do. They all have a 45 degree (light speed) angle for the event horizon of the black hole, and they always seem (to my understanding) to depict the black hole as growing over time, and/or taking up huge amounts of space (like, infinite).

Here is my (mis?) conception of what a black hole Penrose diagram should look like. Assume this thing just formed at time and space coordinates 0,0 (the present). The event horizon has a width W. I've colored the black hole red in the diagram. To me, it should basically be a shaded box going straight up to infinity.

Explain why this is wrong. Thanks.

1657162187815.png

Physics news on Phys.org
sbaker8688 said:
Explain why this is wrong.