Perception of time, relative and distant.

In summary, The two planets are far apart, one is much larger than the other, and time moves more slowly on the larger planet. If there were two people on each planet, one would see the other go about their lives in slow motion, while the other would see the other go about their lives in a much faster mode. Measurements of a planet passing through its orbit would be different depending on where on the planet the observer is.
x3RangeMerge
Hello!

This is my first post, so I should make a small introduction. I am not a science expert in anyway shape or form, but I am a keen enthusiast who regularly keeps up to date with science news through popular websites such as IFLS, Space, BBC etc.

I have been wondering about this particular thing for some time, maybe somebody is able to shed some light.

If time, or the perception of time is affected due to the size of objects in space, then does it affect also how we see objects in space from either direction (i.e observing from here to there, or vice versa)?

So if there were, hypothetically, two planets inhabited by humans, far away from each other. One much larger than the other, where time moves slower. Say we could monitor each other, up close, through telescopes... would we from one side, see our fellow humans going about daily life in super slow motion, and they would see us as the opposite, in a sort of super speedy mode?

Any insights you can provide in order to help me understand the relationship here would be greatly appreciated :)

Thanks!

Mark C

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Mark, welcome to PF!

You're probably talking about the gravitational time dilation - time slows down near a massive body when compared to the passage of time far away from that body. Note that this is not about size, but about mass and the distance from it.