PhD Astrophysics, Europe or USA?

In summary: However, the job prospects are generally better in the US. The main issue with a PhD in Europe is that it can take 5 years to finish, and many universities require a Master's degree before you can even apply for a PhD. Additionally, PhDs in Europe are usually only for 3 years, so if you want to stay in the field for a while, a PhD in the US is a better option.
SebastianB
Hello everyone,

This is my first post! :)

I want to ask you about the pros and cons of doing a PhD in Astrophysics in Europe or USA.

First, I'm going to talk about my current situation. I got my bachelor's degree in physics two months ago, at University of Antioquia, Colombia. I have some experience in researching (presentations, posters, research groups, two ApJ papers, ...), so according to my former Professors it shouldn't be that hard to get admitted in different Universities and I hope it's true!

Some of my former Professors have told me about the pros and cons of each option. According to them, with a PhD in USA I could get a job easily (academic or non-academic job, most of us know about the increasing difficulty to get academic jobs), this is why the USA Universities have better international ranks, more funds, etc. And to be honest, a PhD degree in Harvard, Princeton, Berkeley, bla bla bla, sounds really good :). The main issues with this option are: the PhDs are generally of 5 years!, and the scholarships (really fellowships) are ... scarce, so to speak.

Now, respect to Europe and according to them again, job options are very scarce, inclusively non-academic jobs and probably I must return to Colombia, where a PhD in Astrophysics doesn't help to get non-academic jobs and the academic ones are scarce too. On the other hand, the scholarships use to be much better, and the PhD are generally of 3 years. For example, more specifically, is it a better option doing a PhD in 3 years and after 2 years of pos-doc in USA than a PhD in 5 years (USA)?