Physics Phd Teaching Engineering

In summary, if you have a degree in engineering, you may be able to teach physics courses at a university. However, it depends on the demand for lecturers and the specific engineering course you wish to teach.
fog37
Hello,

Does anyone know if a Phd in physics can teach engineering courses at a university? Or do you need to have an engineering degree?

Thanks you!

Physics news on Phys.org
fog37 said:
Hello,

Does anyone know if a Phd in physics can teach engineering courses at a university? Or do you need to have an engineering degree?

Thanks you!

If I just answer "yes", is that meaningful to you?

Question like this, including "hi, I have a degree in such-and-such, can I do a PhD in physics?", are extremely vague and asking for something that isn't common. It means that there are only narrow and specific cases and opportunities when such a thing may and can happen.

I can show you cases where physics PhD's even becoming faculty members and Deans of engineering school. But does that mean that someone who received a degree in, say, optics, can immediately be plucked into teach an advanced course in Chemical Engineering? Let's be real here!

There are areas of physics, such as Accelerator science and Device physics, where the boundary between physics and engineering is blurred. In such cases, sure, someone in physics might qualify to teach a course in, say, RF engineering, etc. So this applies to very specific and narrow cases only!

It is why your question is vague and not meaningful.

Zz.

Likes fog37 and Bystander
Hello ZapperZ,

I see your point and appreciate your reply. Thank you.