Plugging numbers into my calculator wrong

In summary, the conversation is about a straight A engineering student who is struggling with bad grades due to making mistakes when plugging numbers into their calculator. They study a lot and know the material, but their professor purposely gives them less time to complete quizzes, resulting in a rushed and error-prone process. Though most classmates don't have this issue, the student has always struggled with it and is frustrated by the impact it has on their grades. They discuss the importance of being careful and taking extra time to check work, but the student feels it takes more than the average five seconds to do so. The conversation ends with the suggestion that the student approach this issue as an engineering problem to solve.
drcne
I'm getting pretty discouraged because I'm a straight A engineering student, but this semester I'm getting bad grades because I'm plugging things into my calculator wrong. I study a ton, and I definitely know the material, I just plug things into my calculator wrong and get the wrong answer.

In my deforms class, we have one problem quizzes that are timed, and pretty much everyone struggles to even get the problem done in the given time. My professor said that he purposely gives us less time than we need to challenge us, so I don't have enough time to check my work because I'm literally rushing to finish a deform problem in 10 mins. This always results in me entering something into my calculator wrong, and getting the wrong answer.

Most of my classmates don't have this problem, but I have always had it. Normally, my teachers see the mistake and only take off a few points as long as it's obvious that I knew what I was doing, but not this professor. I really don't know what to do lol, it's frustrating when you know the material, 99% of the work is correct, and you end up getting a 70 because the final answer is wrong.

Physics news on Phys.org