Polarity and solubility of AgCl

In summary, the rule of like dissolves like states that polar compounds dissolve in polar solvents. AgCl does not dissolve in water, but it does form a precipitate when mixed with potassium nitrate.
Abu
Hi everyone. I am a beginner in chemistry (introductory) so my knowledge is pretty limited when it comes to this subject.

From what I have been taught, like dissolves like, meaning polar dissolves polar and non-polar dissolves non-polar. The electronegativity difference of AgCl is around 1.3, which makes it polar covalent (which is strange because I thought AgCl was an ionic bond since it is a metal and nonmetal). In water, AgCl is insoluble - but how come? The electronegativity difference of H2O is 1.5, which also makes it polar covalent. So shouldn't the water dissolve the AgCl? Is this an exception? When I tried researching this question, some people even said that AgCl is non-polar covalent, which seems incorrect to me.

Another example is AgCl in potassium nitrate. Potassium nitrate is an ionic bond because it consists of a cation and anion, AgCl is a polar covalent bond due to the EN difference, despite being ionic in the sense that it is metal and nonmetal. Since one is Ionic and the other is polar covalent, it makes sense to me why AgCl does not dissolve in potassium nitrate, and should instead form a precipitate.

So how come AgCl will not dissolve in water, where it seems that the rule like dissolves like should apply?

Chemistry news on Phys.org
Being polar, ionic or covalent has little to do with solubility.
So for example BaSO4 is certainly ionic and very poorly soluble. You may call it "insoluble" if you wish.
MgSO4 is ionic and very well soluble.
Hg (CN)2 is covalent and well soluble
CBr4 is covalent and insoluble
HCN is polar and soluble
PbO2 is polar and insoluble

AgCl is not an exception.
Other poorly soluble chlorides are for example PbCl2, TlCl, CuCl

Martin0001 said: