Preventing Egg Smashing: Strategies for a Safe Landing

In summary, the conversation is about a student in 8th grade (7th grade in the US) trying to prevent an egg from breaking when dropped from a height of 4 meters. The student is unsure if they need to calculate anything and is seeking advice on how to prevent the egg from breaking. The other person suggests using trial and error and thinking about what causes the egg to break and how people can prevent injuries from falling. The student thanks them for the advice.
zone32
Hello, I'm in 8th grade (In sweden, I think its 7th grade in US)
And I'm supposed to stop an Egg from smashing the ground, and we are dropping it about 4 meters above the ground.

Do I need to calculate anything in order to figure out how to stop it from breaking/smashing.
And If I do how do I calculate it?

I'm not very good at Physics so I'm having a little hard time explaining.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hej zone32,
:welcome:

You don't need to calculate anything, especially if you have access to a large supply of eggs: nothing beats trial and error :wink:

What you should think about is what is causing the egg to break (it is certainly not the fall itself, is it?). Think also about all the ways you know that someone falling has of not getting hurt.

Likes zone32
DrClaude said:
Hej zone32,
:welcome:

You don't need to calculate anything, especially if you have access to a large supply of eggs: nothing beats trial and error :wink:

What you should think about is what is causing the egg to break (it is certainly not the fall itself, is it?). Think also about all the ways you know that someone falling has of not getting hurt.
Alright thanks!

Related to Preventing Egg Smashing: Strategies for a Safe Landing

1. How can I prevent an egg from cracking when dropping it?