Problems with identities involving Legendre polynomials

In summary, the author has boiled down a problem of perturbed pressure into a Laplace equation and reasoned that the function f(t,\theta)=\sum_{n=0}^{\infty}\beta_{n}(t)P_{n}(\cos\theta). The pressure is given by the following: p_{1}=\sum_{n=0}^{\infty}\frac{\ddot{\beta}_{n}(t)}{(n+2)r^{n+1}}P_{n}(\cos\theta) where there is a boundary condition to determine an equation for \beta_{n}(t) which is: p_{1}=-\cot
hunt_mat
Homework Helper
I am studying the linear oscillation of the spherical droplet of water with azimuthal symmetry. I have written the surface of the droplet as [tex]F=r-R-f(t,\theta)\equiv 0.[/tex]

I have boiled the problem down to a Laplace equation for the perturbed pressure, [itex]p_{1}(t,r,\theta)[/itex]. I have also reasoned that the function [tex]f(t,\theta)=\sum_{n=0}^{\infty}\beta_{n}(t)P_{n}(\cos\theta).[/tex]

The pressure is given by the following:
[tex]p_{1}=\sum_{n=0}^{\infty}\frac{\ddot{\beta}_{n}(t)}{(n+2)r^{n+1}}P_{n}(\cos\theta)[/tex]

There is a boundary condition to determine an equation for [itex]\beta_{n}(t)[/itex] which is:
[tex]p_{1}=-\cot\theta\frac{\partial f}{\partial\theta}-\frac{\partial^{2}f}{\partial\theta^{2}}[/tex]

I've tried expanding and using a few identities but have gotten bogged down, I can't seem to eliminate the derivatives of [itex]P_{n}(\cos\theta)[/itex] but get bogged down and I am unsure where to go from here.

Any suggestions?

I have done the following:
[tex]
\begin{eqnarray}
p_{1}\Big|_{r=1} & = & -\cot\theta\frac{\partial f}{\partial\theta}-\frac{\partial^{2}f}{\partial\theta^{2}} \\
& = & -\cot\theta\sum_{n=0}^{\infty}\beta_{n}(t)\frac{\partial}{\partial\theta}P_{n}(\cos\theta)-\sum_{n=0}^{\infty}\beta_{n}(t)\frac{\partial^{2}}{\partial\theta^{2}}P_{n}(\cos\theta) \\
& = & \cot\theta\sum_{n=0}^{\infty}\beta_{n}(t)P_{n}'(\cos\theta)\sin\theta+\sum_{n=0}^{\infty}\beta_{n}(t)\frac{\partial}{\partial\theta}\left[P_{n}'(\cos\theta)\sin\theta\right] \\