Programming an Arduino Robot to Avoid Obstacles - Help Needed!

In summary, the conversation discusses the need to program an Arduino robot to avoid obstacles by executing a series of actions, including stopping, moving backwards, shifting left or right, and continuing forward. The individual is seeking suggestions for code to use and mentions using an ultrasonic sensor and H bridges. A link to a tutorial on building an obstacle-avoiding Arduino robot is also provided.
Harrison G
I need to program an arduino robot to execute a series of actions when there is an obstacle infront of him. Actions like: stop>go backwards>stop>shift left>go forward>stop>shift right> continue forward. With this the robot will avoid obstacles while keeping his original dirrection. The problem is that i am new in programing and don't know how to do it. Can anybody suggest some code that i can use?

Technology news on Phys.org
Is this an arduino robot that you are building? Or is it a pre-made robot that is in need of some instructions?

If you're building it yourself, what sort of sensors are you using to detect any obstructions in the robots path?

Joppy said:
Is this an arduino robot that you are building? Or is it a pre-made robot that is in need of some instructions?

If you're building it yourself, what sort of sensors are you using to detect any obstructions in the robots path?
Im building it myself, using Ultrasonic sensor to detect obstacles and H bridges to shift the polarity of the motors.

Link works from my PC . If you still can't get to it directly try here

Likes Harrison G
No, its okay, all the links work. Thank you verry much for the answers, i know what i must do now :-)

Strange, i guess my internet dropped out or something, sorry about that.

Anyways, all the best!

1. What is an Arduino robot?