Project in RF/Electromagnetics/Photonics

• Thread starter shpongle
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Project
In summary, the conversation discusses project ideas for a final year engineering project in the field of RF/electromagnetic/Photonics. Suggestions include designing a RF power amplifier with class F power amp, creating a gyrotron or klystron, and studying antenna theory. The use of mathematical concepts such as Fourier Transform and PDEs is also mentioned. The importance of considering demand and potential job opportunities is emphasized.
shpongle
Hello everyone this is my first post on PhysicsForums

I am in my second year of electronic systems engineering degree and I have to choose a final year project. I am really enjoying the modules on RF engineering and electromagnetics, especially electromagnetics is just too interesting :smile:

I have chosen the engineering discipline of my final year project to be RF/electromagnetic/Photonics. My university is actively involved with CERN, so one of the project applications is in particle accelerators. However, I can choose a project application in communication as well!

Could you please suggest me some project ideas for my final year. I really like maths a lot (calculus, vectors, complex number) and I am comfortable with visualizing it. it would be nice if you could recommend a 'mathematical project' idea!

Thank you.

Engineering news on Phys.org