Proof that a vector space W is the direct sum of Ker L and Im L

In summary, the student is having difficulty with linear algebra and is stuck on a problem. They try to solve it and are unsure of how to proceed. They establish that P2=P is sometimes used as the definition of a projection and that w-P(w) is in ker(P). They are able to solve the equation for v-P(v) and conclude that v-P(v) is in the Ker P.
nilwill
Hi there. I'm a long time reader, first time poster. I'm an undergraduate in Math and Economics and I am having trouble in Linear Algebra. This is the first class I have had that focuses solely on proofs, so I am in new territory.

Homework Statement

note Although the question doesn't state it, I think P is supposed to be a projection.

Let W be a vector space. Let P:W→W be a linear map s.t. P2=P.

Show that W= KerP + ImP and KerP[itex]\cap[/itex]ImP

namely, W is the direct sum of KerP and ImP

Hint: To show W is the sum, write an element of W in the form w=w-P(w)+P(w)

Homework Equations

I am unsure of any relevant equations.

The Attempt at a Solution

KerP={z|P(z)=0}
ImP={P(v)|v[itex]\in[/itex]W}

I am kind of fuzzy on the meaning of P2=P, and this is where I am stuck.

Would an example be something like:

P=[itex]\left( \begin{array}{cc} 1 & 0 \\ 0 & 0 \end{array} \right)[/itex]P2=[itex]\left( \begin{array}{cc} 1 & 0 \\ 0 & 0 \end{array} \right) \times \left( \begin{array}{cc} 1 & 0 \\ 0 & 0 \end{array} \right) = \left( \begin{array}{cc} 1 & 0 \\ 0 & 0 \end{array} \right)[/itex] =P?

From this example: for KerP=P(z)=0 , we would need to satisfy z+0=0, so z=0

For some v[itex]\in[/itex]W, the ImP is P(v)=v.