Question About Qubits and the Representation of the Bloch Sphere

In summary, a qubit can store an infinite amount of information, but when measured collapses to a definite state and results in a number that can be interpreted as a value in a classical context.
captainhampto
I have a general question about extracting information from measurement of a qubit. Theoretically a qubit in a superposition state contains an infinite amount of information, but when measured collapses to a definite state and result. My question is this:

Is there a way to obtain a value from the qubit once measured between a predefined boundary (for example 15 < x < 20) and if so, does this correspond to some restriction on the surface of the Bloch sphere for some geometric interpretation?

If not, I'd appreciate any feedback on the matter. As I am not a physicist by profession, please excuse my ignorance. Thanks for your kindness. Also, if any follow up questions are needed by me for clarification, please do not hesitate to ask I will respond promptly.

Physics news on Phys.org
The state of a qubit is (in the Bloch ball representation) described by a point in a ball (or on a sphere, if one restricts to pure states), so one might hope that one can store an infinite amount of information in a qubit and retrieve it by measurement(s). But this is not the case. The famous Holevo bound implies, roughly speaking, that one cannot get more than n (classical) bits of information out of n qubits. So one qubit can serve to store at most one bit of information (in a retrievable way). So for this particular task, qubits do not offer an advantage over classical bits.

Statements like "One can save an infinite amount of information in (the state of) a qubit but one cannot retrieve it" does not make much sense, I would say. A quantum state is quite a theoretical concept, and one should not fill it with too much ontological content.