Question on base class access spec. and constructor

In summary: DerivedClass.h fileclass DerivedClass : public BaseClass{public:DerivedClass(int x){x=0;}public int... y(){return x+y;}};In summary,The main point of private or protected inheritance is to restrict access to the base class portion of the derived class. If that is the case, it's back to square one. DerivedClass.h include BaseClass.h, then if outsider programs put #include "BaseClass.h", they can directly access to all the public members of BaseClass. Then what is the point of DerivedClass to declare class DerivedClass : private
yungman
I studied about 20 pages, I understand the base class access specification as shown;
Base class spec.jpg

My question is why is it necessary to have private and protected base class access specification? If z is public in Base class, other programs can access z directly regardless the Derived class say it's private or protected. Is there really real use for declaring private or protected?Regarding to Constructors, is declaring constructor DerivedClass() : BaseClass() only to save some lines of declaring some default values of the variable and function. That if you are willing to type the extra lines on constructor DerivedClass(){}, you do not need to do this fancier way?

Thanks

Technology news on Phys.org
I think this boils down to how the final API for a class will look to the user. For example I often use STL base classes. If these are left public then people are free to use the underlying container class API which pretty much keeps you from ever changing it without breaking everyones code. Keeping the underlying base class private allows you to make public only those parts you want people to use.

For small classes I'll often start by making them structs in development. In C++ structs are just the same as classes but everything is public by default. Once the API is clearer change to classes and then tweak public / protected specs as needed to make the API clean.