Radio waves and height gain in fading zones

In summary: Lower RF frequencies tend to follow the curvature of the Earth better, so are less line-of-sight limited.For a given antenna height, the lower the frequency the higher the fading.
jaumzaum
Hello Guys!

I'm studying radio waves and I can't understand the following:

Radio waves propagates through Earths surface as a ground waves, line-of-sight waves or skywaves.
There is a phenomenon that occurs with line-of-sight waves (and maybe with ground waves?) known as height gain, in which the increase in the antennas height reduces the fading. Why that happens?

Physics news on Phys.org
jaumzaum said:
the increase in the antennas height reduces the fading. Why that happens?
It helps to get the LOS RF signal propagation clear of ground obstacles (and even the curvature of the Earth for longer-range paths)...

1643910941670.png

https://www.gnswireless.com/info/point-to-point-ethernet-bridge

Likes jaumzaum
Thanks @berkeman!Can you explain me why lower frequencies increase fading?

Can you give a link? Lower RF frequencies tend to follow the curvature of the Earth better, so are less line-of-sight limited. For HAM radio, the 150MHz (2 meter) and 440MHz (70cm) bands tend to be pretty line of sight, while the lower frequency 40/20/10 meter bands tend to be pretty good at following the Earth's surface.

berkeman said:
Can you give a link? Lower RF frequencies tend to follow the curvature of the Earth better, so are less line-of-sight limited. For HAM radio, the 150MHz (2 meter) and 440MHz (70cm) bands tend to be pretty line of sight, while the lower frequency 40/20/10 meter bands tend to be pretty good at following the Earth's surface.
Thanks!

The book I am reading is called General Radio-operador Special, EROG, a Brazilian book that is written in Portuguese.
It says the following (translated):