Recharging a Battery With a Hand Crank?

In summary: UTF-8&btnI=&oe=UTF-8&btnJ=&oe=UTF-8&btnK=&btnL=&btnM=&btnN=&btnO=&btnP=&btnQ=&btnR=&btnS=&btnT=&btnU=&btnV=&btnW=&btnX=&btnY=&btnZ=&gws_rd=sslIn summary, a rechargeable battery (meaning the kind you plug into a usb port or electrical outlet) can be recharged with a hand crank generator
bmhiggs
Could a normal rechargeable battery (meaning the kind you plug into a usb port or electrical outlet) be recharged with a hand crank generator (assuming it was generating a sufficient voltage)? Would there need to be some kind of converter to make it possible, or just connect some +/- leads?

I'm a high school physics teacher with some inventive students and I'm trying to give them some direction. I was looking at some rechargeable products on Amazon, but it wasn't clear to me whether they were actually rechargeable batteries or just high-capacity capacitors.
Thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.

bmhiggs said:
Would there need to be some kind of converter to make it possible, or just connect some +/- leads?
That will depend on the choice of battery and generator.

For small amounts of energy, electrical capacitors are more efficient than chemical batteries.

Baluncore said:
Welcome to PF.That will depend on the choice of battery and generator.

For small amounts of energy, electrical capacitors are more efficient than chemical batteries.
Can you give some more info there? I'm assuming a small DC generator (basic hand crank kind).

There are too many possible choices.
You have a choice of generators.
You have a choice of energy storage technologies.
You must run a dating agency, to connect a couple that can live together.

• Haha
Likes Tom.G and berkeman
Welcome to PF.

bmhiggs said:
Could a normal rechargeable battery (meaning the kind you plug into a usb port or electrical outlet) be recharged with a hand crank generator