Reduced Echelon Form - Which is correct?

In summary, the row echelon form (REF) and the reduced row echelon form (RREF) are two different forms of representing a matrix. While the REF only requires that the leading coefficient of a nonzero row be to the right of the leading coefficient of the row above it, the RREF adds the additional condition that the leading coefficient must be 1 and the only nonzero entry in its column. This helps to ensure uniqueness of the RREF. However, the REF does not guarantee uniqueness, as a matrix can be equivalent to more than one REF.
L = K - U
Hi everyone,

I am teaching myself Linear Algebra and I am confused with the terminology used in the subject.

I am studying Linear Algebra based on Anton's. In the textbook, an augmented matrix in REF needs to have the first nonzero number in a given row to be 1. However, in other textbooks, the first nonzero number in a given row can be any number.

Which is right? It is based solely on preference?

Physics news on Phys.org
L = K - U said:
Hi everyone,

I am teaching myself Linear Algebra and I am confused with the terminology used in the subject.

I am studying Linear Algebra based on Anton's. In the textbook, an augmented matrix in REF needs to have the first nonzero number in a given row to be 1. However, in other textbooks, the first nonzero number in a given row can be any number.

Which is right? It is based solely on preference?

According to this wiki article, it varies. See the last part of the 2nd bullet.
From https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Row_echelon_form:
Specifically, a matrix is in row echelon form if

• all nonzero rows (rows with at least one nonzero element) are above any rows of all zeroes (all zero rows, if any, belong at the bottom of the matrix), and