Relation of attenuation and swamping

In summary: I understand. The power loss is inversely proportional to frequency. Can you also tell me, if the attenuation is constant and very... large, how would the power be affected if the frequency was raised?If the attenuation is constant and very large, then the power would be decreased by 6dB for every doubling of frequency.
Faiq

Homework Statement

Question: If the attenuation between Earth and satellite is 190dB, with reference to attenuation explain why there should be a difference between uplink and downlink?
(I am a senior high school student so I haven't learned in too much depth)

The Attempt at a Solution

My question is what role does attenuation play in the difference between uplink and downlink. All I have been taught up till now is that if the frequencies are close in the frequency spectrum, they might interfere. But what relation does attenuation have with frequency? (If somebody could provide a little intuitive approach towards "swamping" before using it in a post", that would be very helpful)

Physics news on Phys.org
Faiq said:

Homework Statement

Question: If the attenuation between Earth and satellite is 190dB, with reference to attenuation explain why there should be a difference between uplink and downlink?
(I am a senior high school student so I haven't learned in too much depth)

The Attempt at a Solution

My question is what role does attenuation play in the difference between uplink and downlink. All I have been taught up till now is that if the frequencies are close in the frequency spectrum, they might interfere. But what relation does attenuation have with frequency? (If somebody could provide a little intuitive approach towards "swamping" before using it in a post", that would be very helpful)