Remove clothing wrinkles using ultrasonics?

• Thread starter joedp
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Clothing
In summary, ultrasonics may be able to disrupt the bonds in clothes without the use of heat, but it would require a high power ultrasonic sound generator and expensive equipment.
joedp
Hello,
My name is Joe and I am a industrial design student currently working on my final year project in university. I am seeking some information regarding the project, which I hope someone on here may be able to help with.
My question is regarding clothing irons and how can wrinkles in clothes be removed without the use of heat. I am aware that currently the particles are disrupted by heat and pressure in conventional domestic irons and whilst they are broken the pressure of the iron re aligns them. As the temperature cools bonds are reformed in there un creased state. My apologies if this is incorrect as I have very little physics knowledge.

I am writing to ask if technology such as ultrasonics would be able to disrupt the bonds in replace of heat? I am aware steam is able to do this but would be keen to hear anyones thoughts on how this could possibly be done without heat or steam.

Thank you for your time to read this. I look forward to your responses.

Joe

Physics news on Phys.org