Designing a variable-frequency ultrasonic wave generator

In summary, Andrew Raisbeck, a Bachelor of Computing degree graduate, is working for the government of Canada. He has an idea for a product that requires generating ultrasonic waves of a variable frequency. However, he has limited knowledge of electronics and circuits, so he has been doing independent research to determine the components he will need to create a prototype. This includes one or two piezoelectric transducers and a variable-frequency wave generator. He is wondering if using piezoelectric transducers instead of purpose-built ultrasonic transducers will be cost effective and if he can generate a range of frequencies by altering the alternating current flowing to it. He is also looking for advice and suggestions on how to procure the necessary parts.
Andrew Raisbeck
Hello everyone! Seeing as this is my first post, I'll give you a basic background of who I am: My name is Andrew Raisbeck; I graduated from university with a Bachelor of Computing (Computer Science) degree a little over a year ago, and I now work full-time for the government of Canada. Since I am not an electronic engineer by trade, I apologize in advance if this question is a little more basic (or I'm a little more obtuse) then average!

I love my current job, but I have the spirit of an entrepeneur... and I have come up with a product idea - one that requires I generate ultrasonic waves of a variable frequency (the variable frequency is just required for testing and development... the end product may vary well have a fixed frequency).

Since I have very little knowledge of advanced electronics/circuits, I have had to do a lot of independent research; so far, I have determined that I will require the following (to complete a prototype for my idea):