Research topics in Variable stars

In summary, the conversation is about an undergraduate physics & astronomy student who is looking for a good research topic for the semester. They have access to a .5 m telescope in Louisville, Ky and possibly another with spectroscopy and photometry capabilities in Australia. The student is interested in finding a good star for research, particularly variable stars. One suggestion is Delta Scuti stars, which are very short period variables and could be interesting to study with spectroscopic data from the local telescope. The student also mentions previously studying HT Cas, a 108 min period eclipsing binary, but it did not have much unknown information.
bsleis01
Hey,

I am an undergraduate physics & astronomy student. I am looking for a good research topic to work on for this semester. I have access to a .5 m telescope in Louisville, Ky (38 deg N), a .5 m telescope, and possibly another with a built in spectroscopy as well as photometry capabilities, both in Australia.

I am curious as to how to find a good star for research, particularly variable but anything that could bring up interesting results would be great.

Any ideas are welcomed and appreciated.

Thanks,

Brian

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Delta Scuti stars are excellent candidates for study. They are very short period variables making them ideal for a limited term project. If you could get spectroscopic data to go with b and v band data from your local scope it could be quite interesting.

Thanks a lot for the idea. I will continue to look into them and see if there are any good candidates for this fall season and also if there are any previously in researches ones.

A year ago, as a project for a lab, my group worked on HT Cas which is a 108 min period, eclipsing binary, but really didn't have too much not known about it.

1. What are variable stars and why do they differ in brightness?