Reviewing for Grad School: Tips Needed

In summary: Your expert summarizerIn summary, the conversation discussed the individual's plan to review for grad school, including a focus on improving math skills and using Mary L. Boas' book as a resource. The importance of balancing understanding and problem-solving in the review process was also mentioned, along with the suggestion to supplement with additional resources and regularly review previously covered material to ensure retention. Overall, the individual is dedicated and determined to succeed in their review for grad school.
kq6up
I am currently reviewing for grad school. I graduated a while back, so I am going to need a very solid review. I am starting now to prepare for the coming fall. My math skills were a little underwhelming in my Jr/Sr year at UCR, so I am hitting the math bench press first. I have been teaching in the field for about eight years now though at the high school level. I can still do basic calculus differentiation and integration.

I have picked up (by recommendation): Mary L. Boas' book "Mathematical Methods in the Physical Sciences".

I have started on chapter 1 section one and plan on working through the book. The concepts seem very easy and straight forward, but the problems are tricky. I know it is good to wrestle with problems and not skip that hard ones, but I think there is some point of diminishing returns when doing this. I really need to be careful not to waste valuable review time grinding on problems that I mostly understand. On the underhand maybe that is just a part of knocking off the rust.

I would like to finish the book by summer, and I plan on doing most of the odd number questions in the book. I was never good at being a good judge of when to move on as not to waste time as a undergrad. I felt like I needed to understand everything. That worked fine at the community college, but I fell behind at UCR.

Input much appreciated,
Thanks, Chris Maness

Physics news on Phys.org