Roller Coasters-help a writer out?

In summary, Roller coasters help a writer out by providing a good way to explain the mechanics of a swinging pendulum.
CynthiaC
Roller Coasters--help a writer out?

I'm a freelance writer working on an article about how roller coasters work. It's to be a fairly short article for a children's Web site, so I don't need massive amounts of information (and I am doing research of my own as well), but I thought it might be fun get some tips from someone here.

Would anyone like to explain to me in your own words how a roller coaster works, or give me a link to a great explanation?

Also, if you want to give me any ideas on what would make this easier and more fun for a kid to learn about that would be great too.

I will not plagiarise your wording. I am very careful about that. I only want some input.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org

CynthiaC said:
I'm a freelance writer working on an article about how roller coasters work. It's to be a fairly short article for a children's Web site, so I don't need massive amounts of information (and I am doing research of my own as well), but I thought it might be fun get some tips from someone here.

Would anyone like to explain to me in your own words how a roller coaster works, or give me a link to a great explanation?

Also, if you want to give me any ideas on what would make this easier and more fun for a kid to learn about that would be great too.

I will not plagiarise your wording. I am very careful about that. I only want some input.

Thanks!

Sounds like a fun project, given the target audience. Are you familiar with the mechanics of rollercoasters at least to the level in this article?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rollercoaster

Hi berkeman,
Thanks for the reply. Yes, I have a basic understanding. I think I comprehend most of what the "mechanics" section of that article says.