Safe Endothermic reactions for skin

In summary: Otherwise, if actual cooling is the goal, anything that evaporates rapidly will do that, i.e. Rubbing Alcohol.In summary, anything that evaporates rapidly will provide cooling.
Zachrz
Hi, Its my first time here in PF, I was wondering what could be a fast endothermic reaction(with water) that does not burn the skin/ cause severe allergic reactions when/after touching or in contact with the reaction. (With high rate of cooling and hopefully no bubbles or gas forming). E.g to be applied onto the skin. I searched all over the web and found urea with water but i don't know whether it is safe for humans. Please give any insights if possible. Thank you

Last edited:
Chemistry news on Phys.org
Zachrz said:
that is safe for humans.
"Safe?" As in what's your definition of "safe?"

Bystander said:
"Safe?" As in what's your definition of "safe?"
Hi, What i meant was whether it does not burn the skin/ cause severe allergic reactions when/after touching or in contact with the reaction. (Hopefully no bubbles or gas forming too)

Zachrz said:
whether it does not burn the skin
Dangerous endothermic reactions would freeze the skin, no? Exothermic reactions would carry the risk of burning...

berkeman said:
Dangerous endothermic reactions would freeze the skin, no? Exothermic reactions would carry the risk of burning...
Ooh... Ooh my, is there any safe endothermic reactions that won't freeze skin, but provide a cooling sensation?

You might want to include "rate of cooling" in the construction of your inquiry; there're differences in "health" effects, "chills" from "old wive's tales" versus "brisk invigoration" of the total immersion of the "polar bear club health nuts."

Thank you! okay i will make an edit for my question.

Zachrz said:
wont freeze skin, but provide a cooling sensation?
Did you just change the question here with "cooling sensation"?
If so, topically applied Menthol gives the 'sensation' of cooling.