Which Lower Tier Universities Should I Consider for EE PhD Programs?

In summary, the individual is applying to grad school in EE with a degree in engineering physics and is interested in the applied physics aspects of EE such as quantum electronics, nanotech, and electromagnetics. They have already applied to five universities and are looking for more options, preferably from lower tier universities. The individual has a 4.0 GPA, has taken graduate courses in computational science, and has completed two research projects in physics. They are a US citizen and are of Hispanic descent. They do not want to live in the southeast and need funding for their studies. Suggestions for potential universities include University of Michigan, University of Texas Austin, Purdue, University of Minnesota, Arizona State University, and University of Wisconsin Madison, all with strong device
davidbenari
I'm applying to grad school (PhD) in EE. My degree is in engineering physics so I want to work on the parts of EE that would also be called applied physics. So things like quantum electronics, nanotech and electromagnetics.

I have already started applying to: UIUC, Cornell, USC, BU, GTECH. That's 5 so far. I think I need more options... I want my next options to be from lower tier universities.

A little a bit about my background.
- I have a 4.0 GPA, have taken 2 graduate courses on computational science, have done 2 research projects in physics, will get 3 good recommendation letters.
-I come from a mexican university, but I did an exchange program at a good university in the US which is where 'll be getting rec letters and where I did research projects and took graduate courses.
-I am a US citizen.
-I do not want to live in the southeast (Kentucky, Tennessee, N/S Carolina, Florida, etc.) .
-I need funding, I can't pay for school and do not want to get a loan.
-I'm Hispanic (admissions committees consider that nowadays).

Where should I apply to now? Given my background.