Self-annihilating photons and Z bosons?

In summary, we discussed the concept of annihilation and how it applies to particles such as Z bosons and photons. While originally it meant the transformation into a pair of photons, it can also refer to other particle interactions. We also mentioned the possibility of Z bosons interacting with each other through vector boson fusion and the search for the Higgs boson through Z-Z or W-W scattering. There is also ongoing research on the photonic explanation of static electromagnetic waves and the interaction of two destructive electromagnetic waves.
physicsvalk
(If my question seems irrational, it's ok - I'm an undergrad!)

So I was reading up on the standard model and read that Z bosons are their own antiparticles. Does this mean that when two Z bosons are in physical contact, they annihilate? I ask this for photons too since I read this on the "Photon" wiki article, but I'd like some more assurance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, but we need to discuss what the word "annihilate" means. Originally it meant "turns into a pair of photons", but it can be used more generally. In that sense an electron and positron can annihilate into a neutrino-antineutrino pair. Or given sufficient energy, a neutrino-antineutrino pair can annihilate back into positron and electron. When a proton and antiproton "annihilate", multiple particles will be the typical outcome.

Two photons can interact, with the aid of a closed electron loop, to form another pair of photons. This is a very small effect that has been predicted but never observed.

Z0's can interact with each other, but it is called vector boson fusion. They may combine to form a Higgs boson, which then decays into something else. One way that has been proposed to search for the Higgs boson is to look for a resonance in Z-Z or W-W scattering.

I am undergrad and it was my question too for some month( intraction of two photons),