Self-learning QFT for mathematicians

In summary, this person wants to learn quantum field theory in order to better understand the physics concepts that their work is intimately related to. They are familiar with differential geometry, algebraic topology, functional analysis, ODEs, dynamical systems, and classical mechanics. They are 26 years old and worry that they are too late to learn the physics concepts. They are also familiar with Lie groups and representation theory. They are looking for suggestions on how to learn QFT by self-learning.
joseph0086
Hi all,

I am pretty sure this post is repetitive. But I am asking from a mathematician's point of view. I am currently a final-year grad student in a respectable university. I will get my phD next summer. My research interest is mainly in symplectic geometry and some operator algebras.

I want to learn some QFT since my work seems to be very intimately related to some original ideas in QFT.

When I was undergrad, on the physics side, I have learned classical mechanics (symmetry, lagrangians, Hamiltonians), a little bit of classical EM and special relativity(by self-study, must have forgotten some key points). I tried to read QM and general relativity but I could not quite understand at that time. So I hope to come back to these topics too, if I have enough time. On the math side, I am comfortable with differential geometry, algebraic topology, functional analysis, ODEs, dynamical systems. So I believe my math training is enough. It's just that I want the physical ideas from the physicists.

I am 26 and I am worrying that it's too late for me to read these physics stuffs. Or maybe I am too stupid to understand QFT. I am not sure but I just want to give it a try.

What suggestions can you guys provide me?

Physics news on Phys.org
joseph0086 said:
Hi all,