Should I Do Physics At University?

In summary, the OP is a year 10 student who loves science and wants to pursue a science degree at university, specifically in particle/astrophysics at CERN. However, their parents want them to become a lawyer or doctor for job security. The OP's teachers have recognized their potential in the sciences, but the parents are concerned about job prospects. The OP's parents are immigrants and come from a poor background, and the OP is an only child. The OP is considering pursuing engineering or medical physics as alternatives, but ultimately the decision is theirs to make. The medical education system in the UK is different from the US, and it is not possible to major in physics and then go to medical school.
toric36
Hi, I'm new around here and I have a little bit of a problem. I'm a year 10 student (I know it's a little early) and I love the sciences, especially Physics. I really want to do a science at university but my parents don't want me to be a scientist. They want me to be a lawyer or a doctor or something. I spent ages contemplating Radiology because that combines Medicine with Physics but my dream is to be a Particle/Astrophysicist at CERN. I live in England and I am doing my GCSEs next year (Maths, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, English, English Literature, French, Chinese, Latin, Greek, RS and maybe Astrology) and I have already chosen my A Levels (Physics, Latin, Biology, Maths, Critical Thinking or Chemistry). My Biology and Physics teachers have both told me that I am leaps and bounds ahead of everyone in my year and that I have to potential to be a great scientist.

So my question is it worth having my parents practically disown you to do something you love in life and to dedicate yourself to something you are so passionate about or to do what they have planned for you and go through years of doing something you hate?

Physics news on Phys.org