Should I re-take the SAT and take SAT IIs?

• Testing
  • Thread starter PhizKid
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Sat
In summary, if you want to transfer to a higher-ranking undergraduate school, you should retake the SATs and also take Math/Physics SAT IIs.
PhizKid
I am currently an undergraduate at a community college, and I would like to transfer to a high-ranking undergraduate school for my junior year if possible, but my SAT score (which is rather poor because I didn't study at all for it; 650 Math/590 English and I forgot my Writing score but my year was the guinea pig for the introduction of the essay part) is from 2005. Should I re-take the SATs and in addition take Math/Physics SAT IIs in order to be more competitive as a transfer? Or will a 4.0 in community college with possible research experience be enough to compete well?

Physics news on Phys.org
The 4.0 should be enough to be competitive. If you decide to retake the SAT, make sure the university you're applying to accepts SAT scores for transfer applicants. Transfer requirements are usually different than Freshmen.

The 4.0 is a huge help and the research experience doesn't hurt either. I think you should do pretty well with those alone.

Edit: Upon checking UIUC's requirements for transfer students, they require SAT scores if you have less than 30 graded credit hours. Since you say you're going to be applying for your Junior year, I wouldn't worry about it.

Almost every single school I've researched so far (about 2-3 dozen?) requires that my SAT scores be sent to the school as a transfer applicant directly from CollegeBoard.

MIT I believe REQUIRES transfers to have at least an SAT/ACT as well as two SAT II tests from their given pool of subject choices.

On the other hand, a school like Caltech does not care about SAT/ACT scores for transfers, but they require a ~7 hour long (compared to the SAT's ~4) entrance exam which covers Physics/Math topics such as:

Caltech said: