Should I still try to pursue to physics?

• Programs
  • Thread starter marsh2367
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary: D kinematics? The book we used was Physics for Scientists & Engineers by Randall Knight, 2nd & 3rd Edition.
marsh2367
Hello, I am currently a third year student at my local community college who is in the process becoming a pharmacy technician for the moment. My long-term goal is to transfer to Michigan State University. Lately I have had some unfortunate situations happen to me. I have passed calculus 1-3 & differential equations with ease, but failed calculus-based physics 1 (mechanics) twice.

I do not know if it was the way I was taught it or how I approached the subject, lecture was combined with labs in the course. I read the textbook & took notes on the most important points, concepts, figures, equations, etc. I got completely lost towards the end of the semester, especially with oscillations, statics and moment of inertia. Occasionally, I would also get lost with the formulation/creation of your own equations for projects from what you know. Maybe it was not enough practice or something like that? It hurts when you are passionate for a subject & yet you do not have the necessary talent or skills to pursue it. I tried physics out but things didn't work out like I hoped. I wanted to become an astrophysicist where I could do both physics & astronomy. For now, I am pursuing a path to become a certified pharmacy technician or CPhT, I know it's not the best job in the world, but it's better than nothing.

A question would be, should I still keep trying or would you suggest that I change majors to a field that doesn't involve physics? The mathematics B.S. degree at MSU requires that I take a full year of physics, which I do not know if I can do it.

Physics news on Phys.org
If you pursued physics, what would you do differently? That's the question you have to ask yourself.

marsch2367,