Single-Slit Diffraction -- Deriving the relation for the minima

Clemencio
TL;DR Summary
Single Slit Diffraction
Hi everyone.

I'm studying single-slit diffraction, and a question came up: to derivate the relation for the minima (dark fringes), the slit is devided in two parts, and it's assumed the distance between the light rays is a/2. Why is this distance chosen?

I was wondering about other options. For exemple, to take two rays at the edges of the slit (distance of "a"), or other arbitrary distance, such as 3/4.

Why should I assume that rays separated by a/2 will form the 1st diffraction minimum?

Thanks!

Attachments

• Figura 33-12_Tipler.png
    Figura 33-12_Tipler.png
    12.1 KB · Views: 21
Physics news on Phys.org
Clemencio said:
TL;DR Summary: Single Slit Diffraction

Hi everyone.

I'm studying single-slit diffraction, and a question came up: to derivate the relation for the minima (dark fringes), the slit is devided in two parts, and it's assumed the distance between the light rays is a/2. Why is this distance chosen?

I was wondering about other options. For exemple, to take two rays at the edges of the slit (distance of "a"), or other arbitrary distance, such as 3/4.

Why should I assume that rays separated by a/2 will form the 1st diffraction minimum?

Thanks!
Think of Huygen's wavelets. If the wave from the upper edge is 180° out of phase with the central one then the same is true for all other pairs of waves coming from points a distance of a/2 from each other.
In total they will cancel each other in pairs.

Likes sophiecentaur
Clemencio said:

the slit is devided in two parts