Solving a Satellite Orbit Problem: Help Appreciated!

In summary, the conversation discusses the problem of finding the launch velocity for a satellite so that it does not orbit further than six times the Earth's radius. The approach involves using conservation laws, such as conservation of energy and conservation of angular momentum. Further discussion includes the direction of the velocity at the farthest point of the orbit and the use of smiley faces in the conversation.
AwesomeTrains
Warning read on your own risk: This is my first post here. I'm new to english, sorry for my bad grammar.

Homework Statement

A satellite is launched one time Earth radius straight above the northpole (two times radius from center), with an angle of 60° to vertical.
Find the launch velocity [itex]v_{0}[/itex] so that the satellite won't orbit further away than six times Earth radius from the center of the earth.

Homework Equations

FG=G[itex]\frac{Mm}{r^{2}}[/itex]
FC=m[itex]\frac{v^{2}}{r}[/itex]
FNet=[itex]m[/itex][itex]\cdot[/itex][itex]a[/itex]

The Attempt at a Solution

I tried solving it by finding the satellite's trajectory.

Initial velocity in x and y direction:
[itex]v_{x}=cos 60°[/itex][itex]\cdot[/itex][itex]v_{0}[/itex]
[itex]v_{y}=sin 60°[/itex][itex]\cdot[/itex][itex]v_{0}[/itex]

Velocity from gravitational force in x and y direction:
(Θ the angle the satellite makes with the vertical y-axis through the northpole, when it's in orbit)
[itex]v_{Gx}[/itex]=[itex]\frac{F_{G} \cdot cos Θ \cdot t}{m}[/itex]
[itex]v_{Gy}[/itex]=[itex]\frac{F_{G} \cdot sin Θ \cdot t}{m}[/itex]

Total velocity:
(Vector addition)
[itex]v_{Tot}[/itex]=[itex] (v_{x} - v_{Gx}) + (v_{y} - v_{Gy})[/itex]

I don't know if this approach makes sense/ is correct. If it is, how should I continue?
Feel free to ask if something is unclear. Any help or tips are much appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org