Some questions about cryptography

In summary: So in summary, the job prospects for cryptographers may be limited to government security agencies and forces such as the NSA and Navy. The development of quantum computers may have a significant impact on the field of cryptography. The most popular programming languages for cryptography are C++ and C, with Java also being a good option.
set
Hi I am a first year student studying mathematics. I have been experimenting with various subjects to find my thing, and I think I am interested in discrete mathematics, particulary in number theory and cryptography.

1) But it seems like, there aren't many companies that are explicitly looking for cryptographers, but rather, they prefer computer scientists with some knowledge in cryptography. But on the other hand, I believe there is some government security agencies (NSA) and forces (Navy). How is the job prospect for cryptographers?

2) How will the invention and the implementation of quantum computers affect cryptographers? Will they have to look for another job like physicists just after the end of the arms race? Or will the development of this new technology will be the next hot trend?

3) I have taken two programming languages, one in DrRacket and the other in Python. What is the most popular programming language in the field of cryptography?

I thank for your replies in advance :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey set.

For 2) the effect will be big if real large qu-bit quantum computers come into existence. For more inforhmation see Shors algorithm on the internet.

For 3) many languages have some implementation of cryptography, but if you are writing new libraries from scratch and need performance, then I would recommend C++.

If you want to use existing libraries, then many platforms will have some implementation.

chiro said:
*snip*