Special Relativity and Light -- How does speed of an object affect time?

In summary: We are each riding in a little vehicle that is moving through space and we have built some device to keep track of how much of that space we passed through in some amount of time. But our devices have differing readings because we are moving differently.In reality, neither of us is really "moving through space". Instead, we are just sitting in some particular spot on the surface of a planet, and the planet is moving through the universe. But we can't feel that motion, so we invent the idea of "moving through space". And we build devices to measure how much of that "space" we have moved through. However, we find that our devices don't always match. And that's because we are
BadgerBadger92
TL;DR Summary
I am an amateur in physics and I have a question. How does speed of an object affect time? I recently started thinking that it’s due to light “not catching up” with the moving object, thus making time slow down. But what about the front?

Any help is appreciated. I think there are large gaps in my understanding so I would like some answers.
I am an amateur in physics and I have a question. How does speed of an object affect time?

Physics news on Phys.org
Always good to ask curious questions. How about reading something introductory ? E.g. 'Special relativity for the enthusiastic beginner' by David Morin ?

##\ ##

Likes PhDeezNutz, vanhees71 and BadgerBadger92
BvU said:
Always good to ask curious questions. How about reading something introductory ? E.g. 'Special relativity for the enthusiastic beginner' by David Morin ?

##\ ##
How about “Relativity in a way anyone can understand” by Einstein? Is that ideal for a beginner?

BadgerBadger92 said: