Stationary vertical cylinder with heavy piston

In summary, the problem involves a stationary vertical cylinder with a gas that can change in volume with the help of a frictionless piston. The first question asks for the work done by an external force in compressing the gas by a specific amount. The second question is about the net work during a cycle if the device is used as part of an engine. The third question is about the work done if the device is only used to produce temperature changes in the gas. The gas is assumed to be an ideal gas and the process is assumed to be isothermal. The work is calculated using the formula W = -∫PdV. The work is positive, indicating that it is done on the system. The source of the external force is
BobaJ
Hi,

I'm just starting to learn thermodynamics and I'm completely stuck with a problem:

1. Homework Statement

A stationary vertical cylinder, closed at the top, contains a gas whose volume may be changed with the aid of a heavy, frictionless piston of weight w.

a) How much work is done by the external force in compressing the gas by an amount dV by raising the piston a distance dy?
b) If this device is used as part of an engine, what expression is appropriate to calculate the net work delivered to or received from the surroundings?
c) If this device is used only to produce temperature changes of the gas, what expression for work would be appropriate?

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Ok, if I'm not wrong that would be classified as a typical hydrostatic system with thermodynamic coordinates P, V and T. And it should be a quasi-static process. Can I assume that the gas is an ideal gas and that the process would be isothermal? So that $$ W=-\int_{V_{i}}^{V_{f}} P dV $$?
Then, by getting a free body diagram, I could work out an equation for P? But I'm stuck on the fbd.

For question b, I assume that it would have to be the net work done during a cycle. Which would be the combination of compression and expansion.