String Theory & Art: Exploring Extra Dimensions

In summary, the idea of extra dimensions of reality opens up a lot of new possibilities for how we view and experience art. We still don't know how they work or what form they may take, but we are open to exploring these possibilities.
adam101
I am an art student who has become fascinated by string theory, particularly the fact that it predicts ten or eleven dimensions of space. I am trying to conduct research into how the idea of their being more dimensions of reality than the three dimentions of space and one of time could affect the way we view or experience art.

What are the current ideas and theories about how these extra six or seven dimensions may exist and interact with us and the universe? It is probably quite impossible to visualize these extra dimentions, but has anybody come up with an abstract idea of these extra dimentions and any form with which they may exist in?

Physics news on Phys.org
The main theories still depend on compacted dimension. Six of the ten (let me just consider the ten dimensions of superstring theory here), are realized as tiny (billions of times smaller than a proton) shapes. In the most general picture, these shapes are twisty bodies called Calabi-Yau manifolds that nobody can visualize. Frequently string physicsists doing calculations will use a simplified space like a 6-dimensional torus. This can't really be visualized either, but if you think of a set of six coordinates, each coordinate being just an angle between 0o and 360o, you can do math, and that's all they need. There are some neat things like orbifolds that are important too, I will try to think of a way to motivate these for you, or maybe somebody else can take a stab at it.

selfAdjoint said: