Study Abroad in CA: Get Into Honours Program at Caltech

In summary: It's really difficult to answer this question without more information about your academic and extracurricular achievements. However, some reasons students choose Caltech include its strong physics and mathematics programs, its internationally recognized research, and its large undergraduate population.
SeReNiTy
Hi I'm currently a undergraduate student in Australia. I was wondering what was the best way to get into a honours program in a university like Caltech?

Physics news on Phys.org
Be one of the top students in the country?

for caltech
Transfer Students

* Total number of transfer students who applied: 188
* Total number of transfer students who were admitted: 15Less than 10% admitted...

For undergrad, what about Harvey Mudd?
Transfer Students

* Total number of transfer students who applied: 68
* Total number of transfer students who were admitted: 10

Can you guys give me a benchmark to compare with? I need to know if these ambitions of mine are mere pipe dreams...

If you want to get into caltech, you should be able to use google :-p

You're probably busy, and I'm not...

Ok, here is a normal state university (Arizona State Univeristy).

Transfer Students

* Total number of transfer students who applied: 7,413
* Total number of transfer students who were admitted: 6,491

Do you only want to transfer to Caltech? If so why?
-or-
Do you only want to transfer to a school in California? If so why?

If not, than you have a lot more choices, some good colleges accept a lot of transfer students.

SeReNiTy said:
Can you guys give me a benchmark to compare with? I need to know if these ambitions of mine are mere pipe dreams...

If you are even considering the idea that they are pipe dreams, then they probably are. If you aren't straight A, top of the class, local hero, etc etc, you will probably have a big fight on your hands.

Pengwuino said: