SU(3)-invariant Heisenberg XXX chain

In summary, the conversation discusses the SU(3) invariant XXX chain and its monodromy matrix, which can be decomposed into a 2x2 matrix. The system is considered integrable if it satisfies the Yang-Baxter relation with an R-matrix, which can be written as a specific form for the GL(N) case. However, there is confusion about the correct form of the R-matrix due to a suspected change of basis. Further help or clarification would be appreciated.
Maybe_Memorie
I'm studying the SU(3) invariant XXX chain as part of my Bachelor's thesis.

The monodromy matrix of this system can be written as a 3x3 matrix. We perform a 2x2 decomposition of it and write is as ##T(\mu)=\left(
\begin{array}{cc}
A(\mu) & B(\mu) \\
C(\mu) & D (\mu)
\end{array} \right)##

For a system to be integrable it has an R-matrix which satisfies the Yang-Baxter relation. I don't know how to decompose the R-matrix though.

Kulish/Resithiken writes it as, for the GL(N) case,
##R(\mu)=\left( \begin{array}{cccc}
\mu & 0 & 0 & 0 \\
0 & \mu I & I & 0 \\
0 & I & \mu I & 0 \\
0 & 0 & 0 & S(\mu)
\end{array} \right) ##
where I is the 2x2 identity matrix and S(u) is the SU(2) R-matrix.

The main reason this is confusing me is because when we write the Identity matrix and S(u) in the blocks we don't get the correct R-matrix, so i suspect there's a change of basis going on or something.

Any help is appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Thanks for the post! Sorry you aren't generating responses at the moment. Do you have any further information, come to any new conclusions or is it possible to reword the post?

Related to SU(3)-invariant Heisenberg XXX chain

1. What is SU(3) symmetry?

SU(3) symmetry is a type of mathematical symmetry that describes the behavior of physical systems under rotations and transformations in three-dimensional space. It is a fundamental concept in quantum mechanics and is used to describe the behavior of subatomic particles.