Technician getting an Engineering degree -- Will my work experience transfer?

In summary: You are probably looking at most of 3-6 credits towards a degree that typically requires 120 semester credits to graduate. You just won't get much even with valuable field experience..Another area you should explore is CLEP. Most state colleges / universities are obligated to accept CLEP exams for credit. Often these exams allow a student to get credit for elective courses so the student can focus their time on more classes in their field of study or make for a lighter semester load during their enrollment. .As far as pay scale, Technicians can often make more than entry level engineers. However, even a skilled technician hits the ceiling salary far
tensor0910
Gold Member
I work now as a technician on a military base. Looking to get my Bachelors in ME. The problem is I have zero experience in engineering ( as expected ). No internships, nothing.

I guess my question is will I have to start from the bottom of the pay scale when I graduate? By the time I am finished I estimate ill be making 60kish as a technician, so I would want something in that range or higher.

Physics news on Phys.org
Perhaps you may get some type of credit, but it will be minimal ie 3-6 credits via some type of program that will require proof of knowledge applicable to engineering. You are probably looking at most of 3-6 credits towards a degree that typically requires 120 semester credits to graduate. You just won't get much even with valuable field experience.
Another area you should explore is CLEP. Most state colleges / universities are obligated to accept CLEP exams for credit. Often these exams allow a student to get credit for elective courses so the student can focus their time on more classes in their field of study or make for a lighter semester load during their enrollment.