The General Theory of Gravity and Light

In summary, an undergraduate student asked if they can receive credit for a revolutionary concept before obtaining their PhD in Particle Physics. The answer is yes, by submitting it for publication in a peer-reviewed journal. However, the likelihood of success is low and it is advised to seek guidance from a professor. Copyrights and patents do not apply to discoveries in laws of nature, but the student can publish their idea on their own website. Ultimately, it is important to be open to feedback and accept if the idea may not work.
AmorFati
Hello! I am an undergraduate student currently pursuing my Bachelor's before I attain my PhD in Particle Physics. I do however have an exciting concept I would like to have to my name before I disclose it to the world; therefore, I was wondering how this would happen, and if it is possible.

Tl;dr , Can an undergraduate student, get credit for a revolutionary concept? Or does he have to wait until he gets his PhD before he should share it?

Physics news on Phys.org
AmorFati said:
Can an undergraduate student, get credit for a revolutionary concept?

There are two answers:
1) Yes. Submit it for publication in a peer-reviewed journal. If you have something worthwhile, it will be published with your name on it.
2) Although #1 is a correct answer, you should also know that the odds that you have something worthwhile (both good and new) are very low, and if it's also "exciting" those odds fall to near zero. The problem is that if you're only part way through a bachelor's degree you are still years of study away from the edge of what is currently known.

This question gets asked with some frequency here, and if you search the General Discussion section (where this thread belongs) you will find a number of good threads.

AmorFati said:
I do however have an exciting concept I would like to have to my name before I disclose it to the world