The Impact of Force Direction on Collisions: A Physics Novice's Confusion

In summary, if you are on a train and you drink and then throw a biscuit across the table to a friend, the results will be different depending on how fast the train is going.
Matt G
I am a physics novice but I recently became a little confused about the direction of a force matters in terms of impact with another object This probably a poor example but let's say in the first case a human body is still relative to the Earth and the bullet is traveling at 2,00 feet per second. But in the second case the bullet is still relative to the Earth and the human body is now moving at 2,00 feet per second How would the results of the impact differ? Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
As long as the Earth does not take part in the impact (the human falling down afterwards or whatever), the two cases are exactly identical.

There is no "absolute speed" in physics. You can always decide to study a collision "as seen by the human" or "as seen by the bullet" or any other point of view ("as seen by someone passing in a train"), with the same results.

Thanks mfb Yes that is what I thought but is very counter-intuitive to the average person. Do you or anyone else have advice on how to explain it well I should add that you have already made an important point for me in regard to the relationship to the Earth and perhaps that is the point i need to emphasize Additionally the point about the perspective of the bullet versus the perspective of the human body seem like key points as well. so after looking at this for a bit I believe you have summed it up perfectly so I kind of withdrawing the question, but if anyone has anything else i am ears

Last edited:
Physics is the same for all (inertial) observers. That is one of the most fundamental observations we made. I don't think that concept is so counter-intuitive.

Matt G said:
Thanks mfb Yes that is what I thought but is very counter-intuitive to the average person.