The need for getting another particle physics book

In summary, Leon is a physics undergraduate who is interested in particle physics. They are considering getting some books on quantum field theory, which is a framework for particle physics. However, they are concerned that many particle physics books cover the same topics as the qft books they plan on getting. They ask if there are any particle physics books that assume a background in qft but have unique content. The suggested book is "The Standard Model and Beyond" by Paul Langacker, which assumes a background in qft and is quite advanced. Leon will check it out after their exams.
Leonfeynman
Hi there, my name is Leon and I am a physics undergraduate. Recently I decided to dig into the field of particle physics by getting some related books. I definitely will get some books on quantum field theory (Peskin, Scrednick, mandl and shaw...etc), since qft is a framework of particle physics. However, when I take a look into the content of most particle physics book, I found that at least half of them are presented in the previous mentioned qft book(at least they are the same in terms of the topic name), it really confuse me that should I get another particle physics book. What do you guys think? Is there any particle physics book that pre-assumed qft, and presenting content that do not overlap a lot with that of qft book?

Thank you so much!

Physics news on Phys.org
Leonfeynman said:
Is there any particle physics book that pre-assumed qft, and presenting content that do not overlap a lot with that of qft book?

The book "The Standard Model Model and Beyond" by Paul Langacker

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1498763219/?tag=pfamazon01-20

assumes a background in quantum field theory.