The Top Undergraduate Math Courses for Physics

In summary: Lie group course!In summary, a freshman should focus on taking the most important math courses for theoretical physics in order to save money and graduate in four years. The most important mathematics courses for theoretical physics for a student who wishes to focus on GR and QFT are: Differential geometry of curves and surfaces, Topology, Differential geometry of manifolds, Riemannian geometry, Lie groups, Representation theory, Linear algebra (the more you take, the better. Be sure to get a course that'll do dual spaces and maybe even tensors), and Complex variables.
Joshua L
Hey all, I am currently a freshman double majoring in Physics and Math at Purdue University. I have been recently creating a schedule that orders all of the courses I need to take and those that I want to take for the rest of my undergraduate endeavors. I know that it's rather early to do this, but I need to. If I craft my schedule in a certain way quite soon, I may able to avoid taking classes this summer, graduate in four year, and most importantly, save money. I love physics and math; so if I feel as though that there is a course I need to enroll in, I will do so unquestionably.

So here is the question: what are the most important undergraduate math courses for a student who wishes to focus on theoretical physics and go to graduate school for a PhD?

(I know that Linear Algebra is considered quite important, but I would much appreciate it if you can list more than one. Perhaps five or six?)

I would love to hear your lists. Thanks a bunch.

Physics news on Phys.org
What kind of theoretical physics?

Single and multivariable calculus are mandatory. As well as ordinary and partial differential equations. Linear algebra is very necessary. And a mathematical methods of physics class or a class on analysis are necessary as well. I think topology and analysis are required to tackle general relativity. Hope that helps :D

Last edited: