Tips for a newly graduated mech-engineer

• Engineering
  • Thread starter Xefyros
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Tips
In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's background in mechanical engineering with a focus on product development, their interest in learning German for potential job opportunities, and their desire to work in product development. They also seek tips for advancing in their career and avoiding common mistakes. The speakers also mention the importance of having a portfolio and practical design skills for job interviews, and suggest further education and internships as ways to gain experience and secure entry-level positions in product development.
Xefyros
( I am from sweden) So soon i got a bachelors degree in mechanical engineering with orientation innovation and design. The focus areas in school has been product development, cad, FEM etc. We have worked most with Creo 2.0 but I am now learning Catia V5 at home because many companys use it. I am also learning german so that maybe I can work there later for some years or taking business trips there for a company ( I like traveling and my girlfriend if from germany). I think i want to work with product development, I like both design (estetics) and the more analytical part with analysis and calculations.

But what tips do you have? How do i advance in my career? are there some common mistakes I should try to avoid. Or just common tips :)

Physics news on Phys.org
I am a recent ME graduate who works in product development. My experience in NZ is that graduate roles in product development are very competitive.You need a portfolio of projects showing your skills, you won't get interviews if you all you have is a degree, you need evidence of relevant personal projects.
IME what employers are looking for are practical design skills and hands on prototyping experience.

Likes Nidum