To learn Vim or not to learn Vim

• Thread starter kandelabr
  • Start date
In summary: When I was writing *NIX code for a cygwin install and doing my builds with g++ or make, I still found it more convenient to use Visual Studio as my editor because it is well-suited both for the task and for the operating system.
kandelabr
Hello.
I wonder - does it really pay off to learn Vim? I know it's fast and all, but if you compare it, for example, to Visual Studio editor (which isn't nearly as sophisticated), editing speed is not the only aspect of an editor.
I mean, in an IDE, there's tons of shortcuts and commands and if you use Vim, you're back to edit->command-line->compile.
I mean, again, how many professionals do you know that use Vim for writing code?
I mean, again again, if I'm going to learn a 570-page book, I'd better be knowing what I'm doing.
I work part-time as an SQL programmer (that is, cca. 50-100 kB of code per month).

I'm not starting a war (I haven't mentioned Emacs yet (uh, now I have)), I just find it hard to believe to those few that had enough time to learn it and all.

Cheers & thanks.

Computer science news on Phys.org
Basic proficiency with vim doesn't take much investment -- just get a good cheat sheet and that's all you need. Maybe go through the first few bits of the vim tutorial instead, and write down what you think is important.

Sure, there are lots of other things you might want out of an editor. But sometimes, you really do just want speed. For me, that is my primary use case -- if I want to make a quick edit to something, I use vim without giving it a second thought. I do know someone who uses gvim pretty much exclusively.