Top universities for aerospace?

In summary, US News ranks engineering universities according to their quality. Top universities include flagship universities such as MIT and prestigious state universities. If you want to pursue a graduate degree in engineering, you should figure out where the most experienced and successful researchers are located and apply to them. Community colleges may not be the best option for someone looking to pursue a graduate degree in engineering, as they may not be able to provide the same level of quality education as a more prestigious university.
AlvisPrabhu
Hello,
I am a US citizen currently residing abroad.i am studying under CBSE , in grade 12. After graduation I wish to study in US . I aspire to become an aerospace engineer and an astrophysicist. What are some top universities that I can try for? What are the requirements?

Physics news on Phys.org
https://www.usnews.com/best-colleges/rankings/engineering-doctorate-aerospace-aeronautical-astronautical

Likes AlvisPrabhu
I'd look at flagship/big state universities/the usual suspects (e.g. MIT) and see a). how hard it will be to get in, and b). if you get in,how much you'll pay. Given the current economic climate, I would say that your goal is to graduate without debt as a top priority. Look for a city with a good university and a relatively low cost of living; ideally, look for a cheap community college and get your first two years out of the way, then transfer.

For grad school if you want to do it, figure out who the most established and skilled researchers in your sub specialty are, and where they are at. The rankings, which are mostly nonsense, are useless for this task; instead, you need to talk to people in the field and get a sense of where they think the good people are. That said, you should get a lot of opinions; people will have a wide variety of biases depending upon where their enemies and friends are!

Likes AlvisPrabhu and Greg Bernhardt
Crass_Oscillator said: