Trouble understanding vector hat notation - Circular Motion

In summary, the end of the acceleration equation on the slide makes sense when ω is constant and linear speed is also constant.
lightlightsup
Homework Statement
See slide 23: http://web.mit.edu/8.01t/www/materials/Presentations/Presentation_W04D1.pdf
Relevant Equations
I don't understand hat notation?
I'm new to classical mechanics.
I've done enough work with vectors to get the basics.
But, I'm having trouble understanding the notation on this MIT presentation I found on circular motion: http://web.mit.edu/8.01t/www/materials/Presentations/Presentation_W04D1.pdf
On slide 23, for example, I don't understand how they keep multiplying (it seems) with r-hat (is that how you say it?).
I don't quite get how to translate the position equation on the top of the slide either.
I'll be happy with either an explanation or a link to good resources to read on the topic.
Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• LEC-UND.png
    LEC-UND.png
    62 KB · Views: 502
Physics news on Phys.org
First, yes that's how you say it "r-hat" and "theta-hat".

The basic idea is that ##\hat{r}## and ##\hat{\theta}## are unit vectors, similar to ##\hat{x}## and ##\hat{y}## that you have in Cartesian coordinates. ##\hat{r}## is in the direction of the position vector; and ##\hat{\theta}## is perpendicular to this in a counter-clockwise direction.

There are two big differences between Cartesian and Polar notation:

In Cartesian coordinates, the position vector, ##\vec{r}##, is:

##\vec{r} = x\hat{x} + y\hat{y}##

In polar notation, the position vector involves only ##\hat{r}##. So, we have:

##\vec{r} = r\hat{r}##

Note that ##\hat{\theta}## does not appear in the position vector.