Turbocharger Question: 2x Less Rotating Mass Benefits?

In summary, the conversation discusses the difference between two turbochargers with the same design but one having 2x less rotating mass. The question is whether both turbochargers require the same amount of energy to compress a specific volume of air to a given pressure. While both turbos can do the same amount of work at a steady-state point, the lighter turbo may have an advantage due to its faster response time and ability to supply boost for a longer period of time. There is also discussion about the relationship between turbine power, compressor power, and exhaust gas power in turbocharger operation.
yellowf40
Hello guys I am new to this. I have a question about turbochargers that is really giving me a headache maybe someone can help. If there are 2 turbochargers they are the same in every way. The only difference is that one turbocharger has 2x less rotating mass than the other turbocharger. Will both turbochargers require the same amount of energy to compress a specific volume of air to a given pressure?

I know this may sound dumb, but try to understand what I am saying. By having 2x less inertia, is faster response to get to a certain rpm the only benefit? or does the lighter turbo require less power to compress the air than the heavier turbo since the heavier turbo needs more power to get to a certain rpm?

If we consider the adabatic compression process which turbochargers follow, nearly all the turbine shaft work is used by the compressor to raise the temperature of the air and the pressure. If one turbo has 2x less inertia than the heavier turbo wouldn't the lighter turbo have less available shaft power than the heavy turbo, because less power is needed to overcome the inertia of the lighter turbo? Would this affect the overall adabatic temperature rise?

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
yellowf40 said: